Capitalizing Hell

I need a ruling.  I’ve seen a lot of debate back an forth on this subject, but I’ve never seen anything official to serve as a guide.  If we’re all supposed to capitalize God, because he’s, you know, God, then should we also be capitalizing Heaven?  I mean, it’s a place, at least in theory, so grammatical rules would dictate that we capitalize it, right?  And if we capitalize Heaven, then we should be capitalizing Hell, too, shouldn’t we?

Then why did The Kansas City Star just print a quote without capitalizing Hell?  They went the little ‘h’ route for some reason, and I’d really like to know why.  Is it because they serve the buckle of the Bible Belt (note the caps), and their readers wouldn’t appreciate them capitalizing Satan’s workshop?  Is it some anti-religious statement, an indication that the Star’s editors don’t believe in Heaven, Hell, Purgatory, Paradise or any other place invented by organized religion?  In that case, they would essentially be considering those locales to be fictional, which means they still should have capitalized them.  I mean, you never see Oz referred to as “oz”, right?  It’s a place.  You’re supposed to capitalize, at least I think you are.  Is there a Schoolhouse Rock episode about this that I can review?

I find all of this very confusing.  Even more confusing was the quote itself, where a representative of the Southern Christian Leadership Council says he’s coming to Kansas City to “raise hell”.  Those zany Southern Christian Leaders.  Who knew they talked like Hell’s Angels?

Or should that be “hell’s Angels”?

2 thoughts on “Capitalizing Hell

  1. Pingback: The Curse of PG-13 « The Everyman Blog

Leave a comment