Underappreciated Stuff

Just my personal list of stuff in life that is unquestionably cool but rarely praised.  I’m sure I’ll be adding to this list in the future, but here’s the first things that come to mind:

  • Lunch dates with my wife.  Gets each of us out of our respective offices, we can choose a restaurant without the need to wonder if they have something the kids will like, and we don’t have to find a babysitter because the kids are still in school.  A staple of any successful marriage.
  • Free coffee and tea, including iced tea, from my company’s cafeteria.  When I first came to work here over eight years ago, I literally didn’t believe my new co-workers when they told me this.  For the grand total of 40 cents I can get coffee or tea and a fresh-baked muffin for breakfast every morning without having to make any stops on the way to work.  Ingenious.
  • Buddy Holly.  Due to a confluence of tragic circumstances – his untimely death, little remaining live footage of him performing, legal wrangling over the rights to his likeness and music, etc. – he’s just not heard all that much anymore.  (I mean, just look at the official Buddy Holly website.  Pitiful.)  Is everyone out there aware of the fact that he’s considered one of the pillars of rock ‘n roll?  Not only was he considered a seminal performer, but a groundbreaking songwriter and arranger as well.  His fingerprints have been on all rock music for the past 50 years.
  • eBay.  It seems obvious now, but remember back in the day when it was virtually impossible to find some rare items without a massive air-sea-ground search effort?  Sure, eBay killed local mom and pop baseball cards shops, and that’s sad, but the amount of stuff we now have access to that we didn’t before more than offsets that sad fact.  My wife had a half-complete collection of Charlie’s Angels cards from the late-70s that she had no hope of ever finishing until eBay came about.  Now she not only has the complete set, but I get to take all the credit for finding the cards and giving them to her for birthday or Christmas presents.  Talk about a win-win.  When my family does their drawing of names for Christmas every year, people kill to have me draw them because I always find something cool on eBay.  We got a one-of-a-kind KISS lamp for my brother-in-law, a Boston College High School football jersey for my BC High-alum father, and countless other unique items that I would have never found locally.  It’s simply indispensable.
  • DVRs.  I’ve had one for about a year and I have literally no idea what I’d do without it.  Forget recording shows, the pause and rewind features are easily more valuable to me.  I use them so much that I’ll find myself reaching for the remote even when I’m watching from a place where there is no DVR capability, like a bar or hotel room.  Having the simple ability to back up a key play when watching a game, check out a close call on slow-motion, or pause the screen when the phone rings, has completely changed how I watched television.

7 thoughts on “Underappreciated Stuff

  1. eBay has had a greater impact than I think people realize. Anything you can think of from your childhood you now have a shot of getting back. It can be addicting just spending time browsing. I am sure there are people who go home every night to check it out. I do a lot of recording sports and shows to watch at a later date, but I can’t get my arms around the whole DVR experience. Watching an earlier part of a game while still recording it just freaks me out. Makes me think we’re screwing around with the whole time-space thing. I’m afraid I’ll send myself back to another dimension. Hey, I just moved up from VHS to DVD…one step at a time…

  2. Thanks very much for the kind words, Calvin, you just officially made my blogroll. (And don’t worry, I never suspected you of being a stalker. :))

    Excellent additions to the list of underappreciated stuff, particularly the kind words about Slurpees. I am the scorekeeper for my son’s baseball team, and there is nothing more satisfying to me than sitting in the stands on a warm summer night and cheering on the kids, with a pencil for marking the score book in one hand and an ice-cold Coke Slurpee in the other.

  3. I agree with the DVR. Have you ever been watching a show and you’re fast-forwarding through the commercials, and then you realize that your DVR is about to catch up to the live programming? I hate when that happens. Especially during a show like “24” when the commercials are so frequent. Most of the time when that happens, the wife or I will pause it and force a bathroom break or something 🙂

  4. “…killed local mom and pop baseball cards shops, and that’s sad”

    Take heart they’re probably doing better on e-bay with less overhead.

Leave a comment