Time Terminology

I need a little help here, so please offer your insights in the comments.  Recently I was asked to re-schedule a meeting.  One of the participants had a last minute conflict at the scheduled time, so she sent me an email asking for a change.  These were her exact words:

“Can you move our meeting back an hour?”

Since the meeting was originally scheduled for 11:00 AM Eastern time, I read her comment and thought, “Wow, she wants to move the meeting to noon?  That won’t make people happy.”  You know, because meetings over the lunch hour just aren’t received all that well.  So I emailed her back and asked if that’s really what she wanted to do.  Turns out it wasn’t.  When she said “move the meeting back”, she meant “back” like “back in time”, or earlier.  She meant to have the meeting at 10:00 AM in lieu of 11:00 AM.

Now, I fully recognize the whole “Spring Forward, Fall Back” concept of time, and that “back” is often used as as a synonym for “earlier”.  I mean, Huey Lewis made a fortune off “Back in Time”, so I get it.    But in normal speech I use it exactly opposite.  If I want to move something earlier I say we should move it “up”, or “forward”.  “Back” is reserved for later.

I just ran this past my wife and she sided with the co-worker, so maybe it’s just me.  But I’d like some more feedback on this because now it’s bugging me.

1 thought on “Time Terminology

  1. I read it as 10:00 AM rather than noon too. Sorry.

    I note the writer is a woman, you wife is a woman and I am a woman. Maybe it is a woman thing? So instead of being bugged, just say, “Women!” and shrug it off.

Leave a comment